Jun 20th, 2022
4 mins

The frozen food industry has celebrated its stand-out individuals and teams in the British Frozen Food Federation’s (BFFF) People Awards.

The awards, which returned after the pandemic, took place last night (16 June) in London as part of the BFFF Gala Dinner, and recognised many of the industry’s unsung heroes: people who had helped ensure food supplies continued throughout Covid-19 pandemic.

In total 19 people and teams were recognised across 11 categories, with former Iceland joint managing director, Nigel Broadhurst receiving the Lifetime Achievement Award. Other winners included Health and Safety Champion, Peter Jenkins of Dalziel Ingredients, The Ice Co’s Top Bank team that collected the Supply Chain/Logistics Team of the Year award and Declan Henderson of Apetito, who claimed the Rising Star Award.

Richard Harrow, BFFF chief executive, said: “Following an incredibly challenging period, the People Awards are the perfect opportunity to reward those who have gone above and beyond for their businesses, their communities and the frozen food sector.

“The role frozen plays in tackling issues such as food waste has never been more important, so giving those working tirelessly behind the scenes a morale boost in this way is therefore equally important.”

Award categories were open to BFFF members from both foodservice and retail sectors, as well as associate members where relevant.

The awards were judged by Robert Reader, supply chain account development director at GXO, Isaac Fisher, general manager of Pukka Pies, Marcus Coleman, CEO of Seafish and Vince Craig an independent consultant to the food industry.

The full list of award winners is:BFFF People Awards 2022 winners

Adaptability Champion
Name Company  
Wiltshire Farm Foods Team Wiltshire Farm Foods Winner
Special Award for Innovation
Name Company
David Lennox Iceland
Lauren Metcalfe Iceland
Supply Chain/Logistics Team of the Year
Name Company  
Top Bank Team The Ice Co Winner
Rising Star
Name Company Ranking
Declan Henderson Apetito Winner
Sustainability Champion
Name Company Ranking
Lee Sheppard & team Apetito Winner
Digital Champion
Name Company Ranking
Ellie Shreeves Birds Eye Winner
Key Account Manager/Commercial Champion
Name Company Ranking
James Buckingham Birds Eye Winner
Outstanding Contribution
Name Company Ranking
Jonathan Whiteley Birds Eye Winner
Charity/Community Champion
Name Company Ranking
Yvonne Bennett Cargill Winner
Lifetime Achievement
Name Company Ranking
Nigel Broadhurst   Winner


Dec 9th, 2021
2 mins

Fareshare and Frozen

Nov 1st, 2021
3 mins

Lumina Intelligence give cautious optimism with menu counts increasing season-on-season in the latest BFFF industry webinar

Sep 22nd, 2021
1 min


Sep 16th, 2021
1 min


Aug 19th, 2021
1 min

The Future of Imports Recording

Jul 22nd, 2021
1 min

Integrating Social Value into your business recording

May 20th, 2021
1 min